of chainmail and mezzotints

Well, here we go: boldly forth into the “blogisphere”…

I am experimenting with the intaglio technique of mezzotinting, where the plate is etched dark and then the image is burnished in. My plate was not darkening evenly, but it looked interesting so I stopped, printed it and am letting it dictate my image! Stay tuned for its next stage, probably at the end of the week.

The chainmail is just for fun! My sis is learning how to make it in case the 7 yo lad she is helping to outfit in knight’s gear can manage it. I will probably do more with it than this electric fence wire sample, some jewelery perhaps.

~ by nextthursday on January 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
