mezzotint image revealed! stop the presses!

now do you see it?

Here it is, the second stage of my print! After working for a looong time yesterday trying to get the flames burnished enough and not over-wiping the fire area I was frustrated and hating this image… So I stomped over to the table of first time etchers industriously prepping plates, showed them my print and challenged them to identify the image. Since 2 of them immediately and in unison stated “campfire in the dark” I felt better. I definitely needed that, having spent hours 6 inches from the damn plate I couldn’t tell if it was working or not!

It is not yet finished, there is another stage to come, but it will be next week when that happens. In the meantime I should put some of the prints I did in the fall up here.

~ by nextthursday on January 29, 2010.

One Response to “mezzotint image revealed! stop the presses!”

  1. ok, now i see it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
