deeply etched mollusk

Well, after a longer absence than I’d planned the lazy blogger is back!

This is my current project: a 4×6 plate with deep etching that allows for a combo of intaglio and relief techniques. I’m still playing with color options but I think I actually like it best just wiped as usual without the heavy roll of relief ink as well. I was originally thinking about a city skyline image for this project, but once I got my head wrapped around the technique I realized that it was not going to be as cool as I’d envisioned and drastically changed directions to this little snail dude! I like it, it’s been a while since I’ve drawn snails but they used to figure prominently in my doodles.

~ by nextthursday on March 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
